NYC….or bust. The Art of Fashion.

Alot going on in my world since my last post  (seems to be an ongoing thing, I suppose – which is good of course)….  and quite honestly, I don’t even know at this point the series of events, because everything seems to be happening very quickly….  I think I am reminded of this almost everyday in conversations with people about where I am, what I’m doing, etc.  Last night, I had a call from a friend in NYC, and we were chit-chatting about what has been going on – and it kinda put it into perspective for me – the “quickness” of this, the contacts that I have been fortunate to make, the people that I’m meeting…and the opportunities that are presenting themselves to me….  Karma.  I’m telling you people, good things happen to good (HEY, I’m good Most of the time 😉  ) people.  I really do try to live my life that way and I do believe in putting positive and good energy out into the universe and to people – because it really does come back to you in other ways….  so – onto “Art”… 🙂

I mentioned NYC in my title – for a reason.  Most people that read my blog that I know of – already know this – but apparently there are some “strangers” that read this that wouldn’t…

I am exhibiting in NYC this Friday night (16th) at the legendary, the famous – Webster Hall on the lower east side!!!  YES! 

I am a strong advocate of Craigslist (despite the fact of the Craigslist killer having lived about 3 miles from me here in Boston, and his FIANCE being from my hometown in NJ – ironic???)  anyways – I have been fortunate in finding opportunities and photography work from this site….  (I also LOVE the “Best-of” tab – good stuff — check it out!)  As an example – found out about the Duplessy.org event that I shot – which in turn introduced me to several designers, Charles Maksou from Mizu Salon, and a few models – one of which is Sofija who I absolutely love and is the main focus of my show this Friday!!!  and Rhett – met him thru Craigslist, and he is a great guy who I have kinda taken under my wing as a little brother……so – see????  things all snowball from one little click of the keyboard!!!

So, one of the things that I found on Craigslist was an ad for a chance to exhibit in a show in NYC….  what’s this?  hmmmm….  so – clickety-click — and here I am.  Heard back from them, they checked out my website, liked my portfolio and asked me to be one of a handful of photographers to exhibit!!!   I’m a skeptic at times, so at first I of course was like – “This is too good to be true”…..  but then I got a call from the gentleman who is the event promoter and is a art representative – and it sealed the deal!

 

The Art of Fashion

so, off to NYC on Friday morning to exhibit at Webster Hall…..  gotta love it.  I know I do…..  who knows what will come from this – something? nothing?  who cares actually.  It’s a great “1st” exhibit to have under my belt, I have amazing support from family and friends, as well as industry people that I’ve met soo far, and of course, I’m just absolutely ecstatic that I have this opportunity in front of me!!!  I will definitely have pics from the event….and I’m sure some stories to tell…. 

Wish me luck…

The Art of Fashion

Til next time….

G

to return to website: www.gingerdeVeghphotography.com